I *heart* my iPod Touch

So I’ve finally got the chance to play with my birthday present, my brand spanking new iPod Touch. I thought I’d share with you some of the things I’ve done to it, and some of it’s features!

Firstly it’s so thin it’s silly. It weighs practically nothing, and is as sexy as fuck. I’m just going to skim over some stuff briefly – if you click on the thumbnails they should take you to the full size images at my Flickr photostream.

When you first turn it on you’re greeted with a screen that asks you to slide your finger across to unlock the device so you can reach the desktop.

Swipe!

Then you reach the desktop, where you can choose to listen to music, play your videos, surf the internet via Mobile Safari, watch YouTube clips, change settings etc. You’ll notice I’ve added a few items myself after hacking the iPod Touch. You can get all the info you need to do that at iPodTouchFans.com

Desktop

If you tap on the purple ‘iTunes’ logo on the ‘springboard’ (dock) at the bottom of the screen it’ll take you into the iTunes WiFi music store – which has much the same content as the iTunes Music Store, without the video content. It’s easily searchable by artist/album/song/genre etc. If you tap a song once it’ll play a 30sec preview instantly, tap it twice quickly and it’ll ask you if you want to buy it. It’ll download straight to your iPod Touch – and later sync up to your computer.

I added the Weather App after finding a ripped copy from the iPhone flash image online. It’s much the same as the Mac OS X dashboard weather widget. Cool nonetheless.

Google Maps

Google Maps is another application I ripped from the iPhone flash, and installed via SSH onto the iPod Touch – it’s rather sexy, in the way you can pinch to zoom in and out and change between satellite and map view. Here it is showing my house (I wish!).

Apollo IM

Apollo IM is a relatively old app by iPhone standards, but has recently been re-released as version 2.0 with support for multiple protocols and the iPod Touch. I’ve tried it with only MSN so far but it’s pretty awesome, the chat area looks just like iChat for Mac OS X.

IRCm

Finally we have IRCm, also released by Conceited Software the company responsible for Apollo IM. This application ins very much in the early stages as a 0.2 beta release it has a few creases to be ironed out. Especially with commands such as “/me” etc. But it’s functional for the most part. Easy to update too.

That’s about it. If you have any questions please feel free to ask!

~ by youbrokemytaco on October 12, 2007.

2 Responses to “I *heart* my iPod Touch”

  1. music for your ipod touch http://www.seeqpod.net/ipod

  2. meow alot sometimes on Thursdays of the first week in fall?

Leave a Reply

 
